Carlsen and Abdusattorov Take Command in Champions Chess Tour Finals

In a captivating display of skill, Grandmasters Magnus Carlsen and Nodirbek Abdusattorov asserted their dominance on Wednesday in the 2023 Champions Chess Tour Finals.

Facing off against Grandmaster Fabiano Caruana, Carlsen orchestrated a stunning comeback in game one, turning the tables from a seemingly lost position, even after the setback of losing his queen. Despite dropping the following two games, the world’s top-ranked player rallied to win the next two and secure the set.

Abdusattorov, living up to his reputation as the comeback kid, faced an initial defeat against Grandmaster Wesley So. Undeterred, he showcased his resilience, claiming victory in the next two consecutive games.

This marks the commencement of the Semifinals, with the potential for three sets in total. The thrilling encounters are set to conclude on Thursday, December 14, starting at 12 p.m. ET / 18:00 CET / 10:30 p.m. IST.

As we approach the final stretch of the tournament, the remaining players are guaranteed a minimum of $50,000, excluding an additional $1,000 for each match victory.

The Semifinals follow a format reminiscent of tennis, where three sets determine the winner. Each set comprises four games, with a potential armageddon tiebreak. In case of an even score after two sets, the third set will serve as the tiebreaker.

For detailed format information and updates, stay tuned.

https://youtu.be/EjM0iaQUOu8

 

 

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here