Busch Clash 2022: Format, Tv Schedule, Qualifying, Lineups, How Works?

Busch Clash 2022: Format, Tv Schedule, Qualifying, Lineups, How Works?
Busch Clash 2022: Format, Tv Schedule, Qualifying, Lineups, How Works?

The Busch Light Clash is a pre-season NASCAR Cup Series exhibition race that takes place in February, just before the Daytona 500.

Since the race’s start in 1979, it has been conducted every year at Daytona International Speedway until 2022, when it was transferred to the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum.

You will get to know about Busch Clash 2022: Format, Tv Schedule, Qualifying, Lineups, How Works? in this post, stay tuned.

Busch Clash 2022 Format

The format for the 2022 Clash was revealed on November 9, 2021, which is as follows:

  • For the first time in the event’s history, it is open to all teams and drivers.
  • A total of 350 laps were completed throughout the course of seven races.
  • Qualifying will be held for 36 charter teams and up to four open teams. If more than 40 teams compete, it’s unclear if qualifying will determine who moves on to the heat races.
  • Cars are assigned to one of four 25-lap heat races based on their lap times.
  • In each 25-lap heat, the top four drivers will advance to the feature.
  • All drivers who did not advance from their 25-lap heats are placed in one of two 50-lap heat races.
  • In each 50-lap heat, the top three drivers will advance to the feature.
  • The driver with the highest point total in the 2021 Cup Series standings who has not yet advanced to the feature will start in the last place.
  • As a result, 23 drivers will compete in the feature, which will last 150 laps.

Busch Clash 2022 Qualifying Lineups

Heat (Pos)Car No.DriverTeamQualifying time
1(1)18Kyle BuschJoe Gibbs Racing13.745
1(2)99Daniel SuarezTrackHouse Racing Team13.952
1(3)47Ricky Stenhouse Jr.JTG Daugherty Racing13.962
1(4)12Ryan BlaneyTeam Penske14.007
1(5)11Denny HamlinJoe Gibbs Racing14.053
1(6)10Aric AlmirolaStewart-Haas Racing14.151
1(7)78BJ McLeodLive Fast Motorsports14.235
1(8)38Todd GillilandFront Row Motorsports14.304
1(9)1Ross ChastainTrackhouse Racing Team14.451
2(1)8Tyler ReddickRichard Childress Racing13.761
2(2)41Cole CusterStewart-Haas Racing13.953
2(3)21Harrison BurtonWood Brothers Racing13.965
2(4)48Alex BowmanHendrick Motorsports14.014
2(5)23Bubba Wallace23XI Racing14.076
2(6)3Austin DillonRichard Childress Racing14.157
2(7)14Chase BriscoeStewart-Haas Racing14.247
2(8)6Brad KeselowskiRoush Fenway Keselowski Racing14.305
2(9)19Martin Truex Jr.Joe Gibbs Racing14.466
3(1)31Justin HaleyKaulig Racing13.891
3(2)9Chase ElliottHendrick Motorsports13.954
3(3)24William ByronHendrick Motorsports13.973
3(4)20Christopher BellJoe Gibbs Racing14.023
3(5)16AJ AllmendingerKaulig Racing14.12
3(6)4Kevin HarvickStewart-Haas Racing14.158
3(7)17Chris BuescherRoush Fenway Keselowski Racing14.251
3(8)7Corey LaJoieSpire Motorsports14.326
3(9)51Cody WareRick Ware Racing14.471
4(1)22Joey LoganoTeam Penske13.949
4(2)5Kyle LarsonHendrick Motorsports13.957
4(3)34Michael McDowellFront Row Motorsports13.978
4(4)77Landon CassillSpire Motorsports14.05
4(5)2Austin CindricTeam Penske14.148
4(6)43Erik JonesPetty GMS Racing14.194
4(7)15Ryan PreeceRick Ware Racing14.277
4(8)45Kurt Busch23XI Racing14.437
4(9)42Ty DillonPetty GMS Racing14.532
Table Data Courtesy: dknation.draftkings.com

The race, along with the season-opening Lucas Oil 200 of the ARCA Menards Series, served as the inaugural event for Daytona Speedweeks.

Busch Clash 2022 Tv Schedule

The event will be broadcast live on FOX Sports, including practice and qualifying. On Feb. 5, the lone practice session will be shown on FS2 at 12:30 p.m. ET, while qualifying will be broadcast on FS1 at 8:30 p.m. ET the same evening.

The action on FOX begins at 3 p.m. ET on Sunday with a series of heat races before the main event at 6 p.m. ET. The entire weekend will be streamed live from Los Angeles.

Below is a complete list of national television and radio coverage:

DateTime (ET, -3 hours for local)EventTV/Radio/Stream
Saturday, Feb. 512:30 p.m.Busch Light Clash practiceFS2/MRN/FOX Sports App
Saturday, Feb. 58:30 p.m.Busch Light Clash single-car qualifyingFS1/MRN/FOX Sports App
Sunday, Feb. 63 p.m.Busch Light Clash qualifying heats (four heat races)FOX/MRN/FOX Sports App
Sunday, Feb. 64:10 p.m. (approx.)Busch Light Clash last-chance qualifiers (two LCQs)FOX/MRN/FOX Sports App
Sunday, Feb. 66 p.m.Busch Light Clash main eventFOX/MRN/FOX Sports App
Table Data Courtesy: nascar.com

The event is one of two non-point events on the Cup Series schedule, with the NASCAR All-Star Race serving as the other.

How Does The Busch Clash Work?

The Busch Clash at Daytona is NASCAR’s annual exhibition race that starts off Speedweeks and marks the start of the Daytona 500 countdown. This year’s Clash, the 43rd in the series, will take place on Tuesday, Feb. 9 at 7 p.m. ET on the Daytona International Speedway Road Course for the first time.

The RaceDay Daytona pre-race show will kick off broadcast on FS1 at 6 p.m. ET. The Busch Clash will then be shown live on FS1 at 7 p.m. ET. At 6 p.m. ET, MRN will begin airing coverage. There will be a broadcast on SiriusXM NASCAR Radio.

The drivers are one step closer to the race now that the lineup has been determined. The race will be 35 laps long this year, with one planned yellow at lap 15. As previously stated, the Clash will be held for the first race on the road course, a 14-turn, 3.61-mile layout that debuted in NASCAR’s top three national series in August.

The Busch Clash is only open to those who have been invited, and here’s how drivers qualified:

  • 2020 Busch Pole Award winners
  • Past Busch Clash winners who competed full-time in 2020
  • DAYTONA 500 champions who competed full-time in 2020
  • Former DAYTONA 500 Busch Pole winners who competed full-time in 2020
  • 2020 NASCAR Cup Series Playoff drivers
  • 2020 NASCAR Cup Series race winners
  • 2020 NASCAR Cup Series stage winners

The entry list for the 2021 Busch Clash has 21 drivers, including:

  1. Aric Almirola
  2. Ryan Blaney
  3. Alex Bowman
  4. Chris Buescher
  5. Kurt Busch
  6. Kyle Busch
  7. William Byron
  8. Cole Custer
  9. Matt DiBenedetto
  10. Austin Dillon
  11. Ty Dillon
  12. Chase Elliott
  13. Denny Hamlin
  14. Kevin Harvick
  15. Erik Jones
  16. Brad Keselowski
  17. Joey Logano
  18. Ryan Newman
  19. Tyler Reddick
  20. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr.
  21. Martin Truex, Jr.

This is all about Busch Clash 2022: Format, Tv Schedule, Qualifying, Lineups and How The Busch Clash Work. If you have anything to ask, do let us know in the comments below.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here